ICHS-Shandong University Young Historian Award

XXIII International Congress of Historical Sciences Poznań 2020/2022

New Call for Posters


Mission Statement

The 22nd International Congress of Historical Science held in Jinan, China in 2015, witnessed the establishment of

the ICHS-Shandong University Young Historian Award,

proposed by Shandong University and approved by the General Assembly of ICHS. The award was intended to encourage participation of post-graduate and PhD students in

the International Congresses of Historical Sciences, where they are able to present their ongoing research achievements.

The Shandong University and ICHS have decided to continue the Award during the 23rd International Congress of Historical Sciences in Poznań in 2022.


Application Rules

Young scholars in any research area of history can apply. The author must submit an abstract of the thesis in English, between 300 and 600 words in length.
The submitted text should concern unpublished work.

The deadline for the submission is January 15, 2022.

Please send your abstract of poster to the Coordinator: Professor Agnieszka Jakuboszczak (

The Organizing Committee of the Congress will preselect about 50 applications and the list of the selected candidates will be announced on March 1, 2022.

The results will be published on:

Candidates whose applications will be chosen should send their posters before June 30, 2022 to the Coordinator: Professor Agnieszka Jakuboszczak (

The jury of “ICHS-Shandong University Young Historian Award” will consist of five members: two scholars designated by the ICHS Board, a representative of Shandong University, a member of the Organizing Committee of the 23rd International Congress of Historical Sciences, and an organizer of the poster session.
The selection committee will assess the posters and will select the best ones by secret ballot.



The award ceremony will take place during the closing ceremony of the 23rd International Congress of Historical Sciences.

Both representatives of Shandong University and ICHS will jointly award certificates and bonuses to the winners.

The $US 10,000 award will be divided among five recipients:

1st place – $US 3,500
2nd place – $US 2,500
3rd place – $US 2,000
Honorable Mention – $US 1,000
Special Distinction ($US 1,000) for the author of the best poster dealing with the Chinese history



The selected candidates should prepare their posters according to the following requirements:
A. The content of the poster should be concise and to the point; graphics should display main achievements and academic innovations.
B. The poster must contain following items: author of the thesis, title, academic affiliation, abstract, introduction, sources and methodology, conclusion, and bibliography.
C. The size of the poster should be 90 cm (width) x 120 cm (height), with upper and lower page margins of 25 mm.
D. The candidates must send the PDF file of the poster to the Organizing Committee by e-mail to before June 30, 2022.
E. The Organizing Committee will print the posters and display them at the designated place.
F. The authors of approved posters will have their registration fees waived.


Form can be downloaded by clicking the icon below!