Last April, we announced that the XXIII International Congress of Historical Sciences in Poznan was postponed to 22-28 August 2021. Today we are happy to inform you that the Board of ICHS and the Organizing Committee have agreed that the XXIII Congress in Poznan will indeed be held on this date regardless of the circumstances. Every effort will be made to hold it in a traditional “face to face” form, in compliance with recommended health protocols and with the utmost care for the safety of participants.

The content of the program therefore remains the responsibility of the panel organizers, whom we thank in advance for their efforts. We are aware that moving the Congress into the virtual sphere would be a big loss for all of us. However, in the face of the pandemic spread of Covid-19, the Organizing Committee, in close contact with the ICHS Board, is considering the possibility of offering participation in some Congress events also on a virtual basis. This may include both General Assemblies and the Award Ceremony, which we still hope will take place in normal form.

We would like to remind you that with the decision to postpone the Congress, the Early Bird registration has been extended to March 31, 2021. There is also still possibility to apply for support within the Solidarity Fund.

All final decisions regarding the Congress, especially its form, will be announced in January 2021.

Best wishes,

Board of ICHS: Andrea Giardina, Catherine Horel, Marjatta Hietala, Eliana Dutra, Pim den Boer, Sacha Zala, Joel Harrington, Lim Jie-Hyun, Krzysztof Makowski, Matthias Middell, Lorina Repina, Tao Wenzhao,

Tomasz Schramm and the Organizing Committee


The Organizing Committee would like to inform you that: 1. The fee you paid is of course valid for the new date. If, unfortunately, you will not be able to attend in the Congress in August next year, you can cancel your registration under the general conditions; 2. The program of the Congress generally remains unchanged. If in the course of this year someone wish to give up or update the structure of her/his panel, please let us know. Some reshuffling will be of course possible. All important announcements concerning the Congress will appear successively on our website and on Facebook.




Early Bird

In connection with the decision to postpone the Congress to August 22-28, 2021, the Early Bird registration was extended to March 31, 2021.